How a Break Up Led Me to Travel | AIESEC Memorial

Beth at Levanto, Italy

Beth at Levanto, Italy

Dear Diary,

Travel has taught me to be spontaneous, to not limit myself, and that the world has much bigger things to see than we let ourselves believe. I really do agree with the saying that the world is a book, and those who do not travel read only one page.

I am not a seasoned traveler, or one with very much experience; but I am an enthusiast beginning my journey who is inspired by inspiring others.

“The world has much bigger things to see than we let ourselves believe”

If you were to ask any of my close friends and family about the person I was two years ago, even a year ago, they will tell you that I have changed quite drastically. I’m still the Beth that loves sewing, cuddling something fuzzy when I’m sad, and the one who often speaks without thinking; but there’s a lot more to me than those things.

How it all began…

Just under two years ago I was going through a tough time with a breakup and needed something to occupy my time. At this point I had never really volunteered and travel was only on my distant radar. I heard about AIESEC through social media and was curious about this whole “working/ volunteering abroad” stuff.

Beth at AIESEC's National Congress 2012

Beth at AIESEC’s National Congress 2012

I began volunteering in the communications portfolio with AIESEC which ultimately is what inspired me to travel. Posting content on social media really got me reading about travel, the benefits you can get from it, and made me realize that’s something I want to do.

In the summer of 2011, just before joining AIESEC, I had applied to go on an exchange at our university campus in Harlow, England but was unfortunately not accepted to go. At the time, AIESEC was not yet capable of sending me abroad for a work term due to us just starting the chapter, so I decided to apply yet again to study abroad.

This time around I applied with my first choice being the Czech Republic, France as my second, and China as my third. I ended up going to study abroad in Prague, Czech Republic and it was the BEST decision I have ever made!

– Beth

This post is part 1 of a 2 part series. Stay tuned next week to read about Beth’s adventure in Prague and her future plans!  

GoAbroadCTA

This is part of the Travel Diary series by AIESEC Memorial. Follow the conversation on social media by using the hashtag #TravelDiary and #GoGlobal. Please contact communications@aiesecmemorial.ca if you have a travel story that you want to share!

One thought on “How a Break Up Led Me to Travel | AIESEC Memorial

Leave a Reply

