From Prague to Down Under | AIESEC Memorial

Beth outside of the Kampa Museum in Prague

Beth outside of the Kampa Museum in Prague

Why Prague?

I chose Prague because it sounded like the perfect place to study abroad- a unique culture, the opportunity to learn a new language, and you really can’t beat the exchange rate. I had always heard great things about Prague and it exceeded every expectations I had.

The thought of leaving everyone you love to go to an unfamiliar place whose first language isn’t the same as yours with people you don’t know or trust is scary. Yes. I’ll admit that. But with uncomfortable comes new experiences, learning, and usually a damn good story.

Prague, Czech Republic in the winter- Credit to Philipp Klinger Photography

Prague, Czech Republic in the winter- Credit to Philipp Klinger Photography

What next?

Because I faced my fear of the unknown and uncomfortable, I had an amazing experience which has inspired me to continue travelling and I am going on my next journey in just a couple months. I told myself while I was on my exchange that when I graduated I wanted to go abroad before settling down into my career. I flip flopped between different ideas, thinking ultimately I was going to go on an AIESEC exchange.

Beth Saunders, Katie Malcolm, and Ashley Doiron promoting the 'Best Jobs in the World'In March of this year I was involved in a competition with CampusPerks that had a first prize of a trip to Australia to travel blog for 2.5 weeks with Tourism Australia. I was being judged on my abilities to use social media, PR, and event planning skills to promote the ‘Best Jobs in the World’ campaign/working in Australia to as many Canadians as possible. I didn`t win the grand prize trip/blogging job but I did however place third in the competition.

Because I was so heavily involved with promoting Australia, its amazing landscape, and why it’s such a great place for a working holiday, it inspired me to go there myself. I got so hooked on the idea of going that it took over my thoughts of an AIESEC exchange (but don’t let that stop you! You should really go on one!!) and now its becoming a reality.

“With uncomfortable comes new experiences, learning, and usually a damn good story”

I have my Working Holiday Visa and a ticket to Vancouver for September 26th. I will be staying in Vancouver for a few days to a week to visit my sister and then I’ll be heading to Melbourne from there (this ticket is not yet booked). I am buying a one way ticket so that I can be spontaneous and leave when it feels right. With this visa I can stay in Australia for up to one year.

I think everyone needs to go abroad at least once in their life, and that doesn’t include going to an all inclusive resort.  Put yourself in uncomfortable situations, make tough calls, and go where you’ve never gone before. I cannot stress enough how much of an impact this experience will have on you, so just dive right in and go on exchange!

This post is part 2 of a 2 part posts. Click here to read about how Beth found her passion for travel!  

GoAbroadCTA

This is part of the Travel Diary series by AIESEC Memorial. Follow the conversation on social media by using the hashtag #TravelDiary and #GoGlobal. Please contact communications@aiesecmemorial.ca if you have a travel story that you want to share!

One thought on “From Prague to Down Under | AIESEC Memorial

Leave a Reply

